The Grand Designs Awards return for the fourth year to celebrate the very best examples of domestic architecture and product design. Coined the ‘Design Oscars’ within the industry, the awards strive to recognise those who have raised the bar in terms of design and architecture.

ACID Ambassador Kevin McCloud, presenter of Channel 4′s hit TV programme, Grand Designs, commented:‘It’s never been more important to celebrate design excellence than in the current economic climate. The architects who produce bespoke, responsive buildings, the people designing innovative product, self-builders, and those brave souls who commission exemplary architecture, are the design heroes of our economy. They’re out there, still challenging perceptions, pushing at the boundaries of engineering, aesthetics and invention, and they need to be celebrated and given their moment.’

We are thrilled to announce that our high-profile judging panel of industry experts is ready to deliberate over the country’s finest work. The panel includes renowned designers such as Sebastian Conran, Wayne Hemingway, Kim Colin, Robin Levien and Luke Pearson, architects including George Ferguson, Deborah Saunt, Claudio Silvestrin and George Clarke, plus industry experts such as Paul King and Theo Williams.

New for 2009, the Grand Designs Awards is also extremely proud to announce that its chosen beneficiary this year is Shelter, the housing and homelessness charity. Grand Designs is renowned for recognising and rewarding those at the cutting edge of changing the way we live, and so this year we are delighted to support the work of this important charity that tirelessly works with the homeless and people living in poor housing in the UK today.

Entries can be made online at The awards team can be contacted on 01992 570030. Deadline for entries is 15 February 2009. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 30 April 2009 in central London – tickets are available through the website Kevin McCloud will present the awards.


  • ACID Ambassador Sebastian Conran, director of Conran & Partners
  • Wayne Hemingway, partner of Hemingway Design and co-founder of Red or Dead
  • George Clarke, TV presenter, architect and creative director of  architectural practice clarke:desai
  • George Ferguson, former president of the Royal Institute of British Architects and chairman of Acanthus Ferguson Mann Architects
  • Deborah Saunt, director of DSDHA Architects
  • Claudio Silvestrin, architect Claudio Silvestrin Architects
  • Robin Levien, creative director, Ideal Standard
  • Kim Colin, co-founder of Industrial Facility
  • Paul King, chief executive of the UK Green Building Council
  • Luke Pearson, co-founder of design partnership PearsonLloyd
  • Theo Williams, creative director at Habitat

Categories: Home - New-build house – Conversion – Eco house – Redesigned house – Extension – Housing development Product – Surfaces and finishes – Furniture – Lighting – Bathroom product – Kitchen systems- Innovative building product

Sponsors: Velux - Lutron - Kaldewei - First Direct - Hotpoint

For further information on the Grand Designs Awards 2009, please contact Sarah Dynan on 01992 570 030; email or visit

Comments are closed.