Dids-Peter Hunt

Peter Hunt, CEO of the Lighting Association with Dids Macdonald, CEO of ACID.

At a fantastic exhibition of the best in new and exciting light design held at The Annual Lighting Association AGM at Rugby, ACID sponsored the four winners with the presentation of free ACID support and membership. The winners also received a Safe Pitch kit designed to help form collaborative design relationships with commercial partners. The Safe Pitch kit includes several industry standard agreements and guidelines for responding to pitches or tenders. Loic De Buic responded to his award saying “The one year membership of ACID is really a nice thing to get, I really value the benefits that it gives me and I think I will stay a member after this year.”

This was the first event to consolidate the relationship between the Lighting Association and ACID as trade association partners. The Lighting Association also hosted a Design Protection seminar where Dids Macdonald, ACID’s CEO and Jo Alderson from ACID Accredited law firm Hammonds outlined the basis of a sound IP strategy and offered help and guidelines to those wishing to protect and exploit their intellectual property. Peter Hunt, incoming CEO said, “We are committed to supporting bright new talent within the lighting sector and to raising awareness of UK design and protection. This is the first event of many with ACID which we hope will help those within the lighting industry to develop their own IP strategies.”

The award winners are shown below receiving their prizes from Bruce Davidson, President of the Lighting Association.

Loic De Buck

Student Lighting Designer 2008 Loic De Buck winner with his ‘AirLight’ design.

Luke Dixon

Energy Efficient Student Lighting Designer 2008 Luke Dixon – ‘Switch’

Laura Hibbert

Second Place Laura Hibbert – ‘Cara’

Jason Cooper

Third Place Jason Cooper – ‘Ceejay’


Phillips award Daniel Ward – ‘Lloyd The Bankers Light’

Chooi-Leng Tan

Highly Commended Chooi-leng Tan – ‘Pouring Light’

Christopher Harkin

Highly Commended Christopher Harkin – ‘Honeycomb’


Comments are closed.